September 23, 2012

  • OH CANADA

    It’s hard to think of Canada as a foreign country since Canadians look like us, talk like us and have the same kind of coins, but it does require a passport or enhanced driver’s license to get into it.  I do miss the days when such wasn’t needed to go between the two countries, but we will never see those times again.  We’ve been there many times over the years and have never had a bad experience.  We’ve found the people very friendly and helpful.  It’s a beautiful country and we’ve loved it as our “second country.”

    We drove across Ontario on our way home, stopping for a boat cruise of the Thousand Islands area on the St. Lawrence River, which borders the U.S. and Canada.  We went to a small museum and I saw this ship model, among others.  I do love these big models and wish I had the knowledge and patience to build one.

    This was the boat we took on a 2 1/2 hour cruise.

    This gull was sitting not three feet from me until we got underway.  Obviously he’s used to being around people.  I think gulls are beautiful – too bad they’re such scavengers, but I guess something has to be.

    This is one of the Thousand Islands I would like to have.

    Unfortunately this is the one we could afford.  Maybe.

    In the early ’70s when our boys were growing up we went to the Thousand Islands area and boated around.  We landed on this island, the site of Boldt Castle.  At that time it was an absolute ruin, open to the elements.  It had been vandalized for 70+ years.  It was being built about 1900 by a millionaire for his wife, but when she died during the process, the husband abandoned the project, even though he had already put a lot of money into it.  In 1977 it was bought by the Thousand Islands Bridge Authority, and since then millions of dollars have been poured into it to make it the way the millionaire had envisoned.  It’s a fascinating story of love and tragedy, and more details can be found here.

    We were stunned at how magnificent it is, considering its condition when we last saw it.  We didn’t go ashore, although the 5 hour cruise does so.  It requires a passport or enhanced driver’s license for landing.  I would love to see the inside.

    TOMORROW:  Mopping up the trip

Comments (2)

  • My mother is from that general area, I’ve been to the Thousand Islands area many times in my life and swam in the St. Lawrence River when we would visit our aunt and uncle who had a cottage on the river.

    I too miss the days you could easily go between the US and Canada. I still don’t have a passport! Never needed one prior to 9/11.

    Beautiful photos!

  • I’m a Canadian and am glad that you have had enjoyable times in my country.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *