September 24, 2012

  • ODDS AND ENDS

    I love lobster, but I won’t order it anywhere but the Coast of Maine.  The longer a lobster is out of the ocean, the less taste it has.  Order it at The Red Lobster?  Not on your life!  “Lobster on the hoof” (while in the shell sitting on your plate) is wonderful, but in the summer the lobster sheds its old shell and grows a new one.  Until it fills out the new shell, there’s a lot of water in the claws.  You pay dearly for a big lobster, crack it open, and water pours out.  Always ask if it’s a hard lobster or a soft one.  If it’s soft, flee.  A lobster roll is a much better buy.  The work has already been done for you.  I had five lobster rolls while in Maine, and one lobster omelet.  You might say I had -

    Jerry is of Dutch descent, and when I saw this boat I couldn’t resist posing him with it.

    It had been many years since I had seen seaweed, what with the Great Lakes not having tides and all, and  I got reacquainted with it on this trip.  It looks – and smells – the same.  An 11-foot tide is a BIG tide, my friends.

    At one restaurant Jerry the Scientist found out his silverware was magnetized. We asked the waitress about it and she said yeah, some of it is.  No one knows why.

    It was a great trip and I was able to revisit places that are dear to my heart.  Some of my happiest memories are of times spent on the island of Vinalhaven with my grandmothers and my only aunt.  They thought I was wonderful, despite all evidence to the contrary, and all children need people like that in their early years.  Never say never, but I don’t expect to ever go back .  It was good to revisit it all and see my dear relatives in my heart and mind.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *