October 30, 2012

  • We've been following the storm coverage closely because we have family and friends in Pennsylvania.  News about what's happening in PA has been sparse, at least when I've been watching, but I gather from Facebook entries that it hasn't been devastating there.  Most of the coverage is about New Jersey and New York City.  Amidst all the coverage of the disaster on the Jersey shore, I did have to smile a bit when I read this last night from CBS Philadelphia:  "Wind gusts over 60 mph in the city, over 70 mph down the shore."

    Down the shore.  When I was growing up in Philadelphia, that's what we always called it - going down the shore.  Never going to the shore, always going down the shore.  (Am I right, Marsha?)  I don't miss Philadelphia at all - it's such a different city than it was in the '40s and '50s - but when I hear that accent and hear something like "down the shore," it sounds like home to me.

Comments (1)

  • I never lost power nor did any limbs fall & things seemed much that way around here, but Jim was down today from Allentown. They have no pwer & won't 'til Nov. 4/5. Just got it today @ the hospital where Marcia works.Schools there  probably won't open this week.The "shore" makes me sick, especially right now w/ all the family memories being @ the forefront.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories