April 29, 2013

  • WELL, THAT WAS FUN

    But to paraphrase W. C. Fields' tombstone, "I'd rather be in Philadelphia"

    Several months ago my computer came down with a virus that wouldn't let the firewall work on the anti-virus program.  I called McAfee and they couldn't fix it.  They gave me a phone number of someone who could fix it, and it turned out to be someone with a heavy accent (what else is new?).  With my moderate hearing loss, it was fun and games understanding him.  He took control of my computer and took care of the firewall problem.

    Several weeks later I realized that I couldn't update any of my software - a result of what the guy did to fix the firewall thing.  Soon I was getting messages that I wasn't running genuine Windows 7, although I was.  Finally the whole computer went belly-up.

    Richard worked on it for hours and hours but ultimately we had to take it to a shop.  They wiped the hard drive clean, reinstalled Windows 7 and put all the files back in.  We had to reinstall all the programs ourselves, which was, of course, a problem.  Richard helped get the files connected to the various programs, and now things are back in good order.  Except I don't have Publisher which for some crazy reason can't be downloaded as part of Microsoft Office.  Computers are a tool of Satan.

    But I'm back, and will celebrate tomorrow by uploading a Letter From Israel.

    And yes, David, "I should have gotten Apple."  Be quiet.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories